Supported by

Arts NSW

Australia Council of the Arts

Address: PO BOX A661, SYDNEY SOUTH NSW 1235

example graphic


Supporting, commissioning and performing new music where electronic and acoustic instruments meet.

Decibel is a new music ensemble devoted to performing works that explore the nexus of acoustic and electronic instruments. Pioneering unique electronic score formats and giving electronic music instruments a voice in the acoustic space, Decibel also arrange electronic works for live performance. Decibel are committed to Australian music and emerging Western Australian composers, as well as sharing important international works with Australian audiences.
Decibelís annual program 2009-2010 (their first) won the 2011 Art Music Awards presented by APRA and the Australian Music Centre for Excellence in Experimental Music. Decibel were nominated for the same award again in 2012.

Cat Hope (artistic director, flute and electronics)
Lindsay Vickery (reeds, programming and electronics)
Stuart James (piano, percussion, programming and electronics)
Malcolm Riddoch (guitar, networking and electronics)
Tristen Parr (cello)
Aaron Wyatt (violin, viola)

Click here to find out more...